Top Menu


Faculty Director



Siddhartha Das
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Mechanical Engineering
University of Maryland, College Park

2181 Glenn L. Martin Hall

Dr. Siddhartha Das joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Maryland, College Park in March, 2014. Dr. Das received his Ph.D. from the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur in 2010 in the area of theoretical microfluidics. Following his Ph.D., Dr. Das joined the Physics of Fluids Group in University of Twente, the Netherlands as a Postdoc and worked on surface nanobubbles, capillarity and soft wetting. After his stint in the Netherlands, Dr. Das went for his second Postdoc in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Alberta, Canada. In Alberta, Dr. Das was honored with the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship, the most prestigious postdoctoral fellowship of Canada.

Dr. Das’ research interests span different areas of micro-nanoscale fluid mechanics and interactions of soft matter with fluid mechanics. He is particularly interested in understanding issues such as the wetting of a soft solid, electrohydrodynamics past a soft interface, and evaporation-mediated self assembly of soft and rigid particles.

Dr. Das has authored more than 75 journal publications, including publications in such prestigious journals as Advanced MaterialsProceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA, Nature Communications, Physical Review LettersPhysical Review E, Journal of Fluid Mechanics, Physics of Fluids, Langmuir, Soft MatterJournal of Chemical Physics, Journal of Applied PhysicsPhysical Chemistry Chemical PhysicsChemical Communications, and Scientific Reports.

Affiliate Appointments

SMIEL Group (Fall, 2016)

Parth, Guang, Joseph, Siddhartha, Shayandev, Yanbin, Haoyuan









Postdoctoral Researchers


1. Yuan Gu (Started on Fall, 2016)


Yuan Gu received his B.S. in in Metallurgy Engineer from University of Science and Technology Beijing (2009) and M.S. in Physical Chemistry of Metallurgy from General Research Institute for Nonferrous Metals (2012) in China. He then moved to United States to get his Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from New Jersey Institute of Technology (2016).

His Master’s research focused on the solid state method to synthesize cathode materials for lithium ion batteries. His Ph.D. research was in the area of synthesis of conductive inks for inkjet printing, printable sensors and flexible batteries. His Ph.D. dissertation was ‘Application of Inkjet Printing Technology to Flexible Batteries’ under the guidance of Prof. John Federici. During his Ph.D. he received a Graduate Student Award from the New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame (NJIHoF). He joined in SMIEL in 2016 and focused on printing electronics on curved surfaces with various kinds of printing methods and inks. He is co-advised by Prof. Abhijit Dasgupta of Mechanical Engineering.

PhD Students

webwxgetmsgimg1. Haoyuan Jing (Started on Spring, 2017)

Hoayuan has been an MS student in SMIEL group led by Prof. Siddhartha Das from Fall, 2015. On spring 2017, he transferred to the PhD  under the supervision of Prof. Siddhartha Das. Prior to joining SMIEL, Haoyuan Jing received his Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from Xi’an Jiaotong University in Sprig 2015. Haoyuan’s current research IN SMIEL are on (a) 3-D prining of composites and (b) Surface charge effects on soft materials.


_20150825_2033132. Parth Desai (Started on Spring, 2017)

Parth has been an MS student in SMIEL group led by Prof. Siddhartha Das from Fall, 2015. On spring 2017, he transferred to the PhD working under the joint supervision of Prof. Siddhartha Das and and Dr. Keir Neuman (NHLBI, NIH). Parth’s current research is on DNA supercoiling and is supported by the UMD-NHLBI Graduate Partnership Program.


Yanbin3. Yanbin Wang (Started on Fall, 2016)

Yanbin received his MS in Materials Science and Engineering, UMD in 2016. His research will be nanoscale mechanics and materials. He will be co-advised by Prof. Liangbing Hu of Materials Science and Engineering, UMD.



4. Shayandev Sinha (Started on Spring 2015)

Shayandev Sinha received his B.Tech-M.Tech Dual Degree from IIT Kanpur in 2014. His research in SMIEL involves Plasmam membrane (PM) electrostatics and PM  nanoparticle adhesion.



5. Jaemi Herzberger (Started on Fall 2014)

Jaemi works on Electrochemical Migration and Dendrite growth. She is co-advised by Prof. Abhijit Dasgupta and Prof. Siddhartha Das





MS/MEng Students

1. Neil Dalal (Started on Summer 2017)

Neil received his BS from University of Maryalnd. Currently he is jointly advised by Prof. Abhijit Dasgupta  and Prof. Das and he has been working on the relibaility analysis of the 3D printed fillets.



2. Harnoor Singh Sachar (Started on Fall 2017)

Harnoor received his undergraduate degree in Mechanical Engineering in 2017 from BITS Pilani, K.K. Birla Goa Campus. His research in SMIEL will focus on developing Molecular Dynamics models for lipid bilayers and continuum theories on different areas of charged soft matter mechanics.


3. Jahin Patwary (Started on Fall 2014)

Jahin Patwary received his Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from UMBC (University of Maryland: Baltimore County) in Spring 2014. He was a Meyerhoff Scholar at UMBC and has entered UMD as an LSAMP Bridge to the Doctorate fellow. His current research in SMIEL focuses on electroosmosis (streaming potential and electroviscous effects) with pH dependent charge density in a soft nanochannel.



Undergraduate Students



Guang1. Guang Chen (February, 2017 — February, 2018)

Current Position: Postdoc, Princeton University (Advisor, Howard Stone)





PhD Students


1. Guang Chen (August, 2015 — January, 2017)


Current Position: Postdoc, Princeton University (Advisor, Howard Stone)




MS Students

1. Raja Maheedhara (March, 2017 — July, 2018)




webwxgetmsgimg2. Haoyuan Jing (August, 2015 — December, 2016)

Current Position: Transferred to PhD under Prof. Das



_20150825_2033133. Parth Desai (August, 2015 — December, 2016)

Current Position: Transferred to PhD under Prof. Das



Jospeh_Photo 4. Joseph Andrews (August, 2015 — August, 2016)

Co-Advisor: Peter W. Chung


Current Position: Industry




1. Vineet Padia (Fall, 2015 — Spring, 2016)

2. Lucas Myers (Spring, 2015 — Fall, 2016)


3. Joseph Andrews (Fall, 2014 — Summer, 2015)





 4. Kyle McDaniel  (Summer 2014 — Spring 2015)





5. Fedra Valcius (Summer Intern; June-July, 2014)


Lunch with the Summer Interns (Summer, 2014)